After the gamut of beauty promises, a DIY scrub that works

if you spend any time perusing the Effinartists.com website, you’ll know the hubby and I have adopted this attitude of reduce, reuse, recycle — and restore… that’s important… — whenever we can. This runs the gamut of furniture, art, food, so many things, what the hubby calls “hoof-to-head” wholeness, wellness and a lot of other “ness” stuff he’s constantly prattling on about.

Well, near and dear to my heart lies any and all things beauty. I am a self-prescribed beauty product whore (that seems harsh, so let’s just say, junkie). In my heyday I could be swayed very easily on any beauty product scheme and fad. Latest science tells us that this little know berry grown in the remote valleys in France holds the key to the fountain of youth (I fell for it many times). I was Alice in Wonderland falling prey to “drink this, and you will grow.” “Eat this, and you will shrink.” “Use this and stay young forever!”

It didn’t matter the cost, I fell for it. The more costly, the better I swore it worked. What a dummy.

I’ve had a change of heart. I’ve adopted a new lifestyle, one that I’m proud of, one that continues to grow daily, so my beauty philosophies have grown right along with it. My growing awareness started with dabbling into homemade body scrubs. You know the ones. You can buy them at your favorite department store for $20, $30, some even 50 bucks! I’ve no-so-quickly learned to spend even $10 on one of these store bought ones seems ridiculous. You can make it from home with natural ingredients for pennies. Why wouldn’t you give it a shot? You control what you put on your skin, and take satisfaction that you made it yourself. Be proud in your womanhood. I sure am!

The experimentation process has been challenged at times. It remains a work in progress. A fun one, though. With continuous change through trial and error, I’ve so far tried many variations on beauty scrubs: Epsom Salts, Sea salts, brown sugar, white sugar coupled with Almond oil, grape seed oil, olive oil, coconut oil along with your favorite essential oil (I’ve tried lavender, lemongrass, and sandalwood so far..) you name it I’ve slathered it over my body all in the name of experimentation.

Here are my experiences so far:

  • Epsom salts. I prefer to use a combination of Epsom salt with sea salt. For some reason my sensitive skin doesn’t seem to handle well pure Epsom salts. I love Epsom salt for its natural ability to detoxify the body, and it’s great for muscle soreness. But again, I like the combination of Epsom and sea salt in my scrub.
  • Brown Sugar is messy. I decided that I most likely will not use brown sugar in my scrubs any longer. It turns your water (if you are taking a bath, which I so often do) a nice brown color, and leaves your nice white towels a little dingy. Plus, I decided I wasn’t thrilled with the smell. Just my oh so humble opinion.
  • Coconut Oil in a scrub. So, coconut oil smells so yummy but in a scrub? Well I don’t think I’ll use it again. It’s solidified, and it’s darn hard to get it into its liquid phase as you bathe or shower. I read where some just allowed the steam from their bath/shower to liquefy the oil. I tried this, but my pruney fingers felt numb at the end of my waiting game. I don’t think I’ll use it again.

I will continue to be the guinea pig, but for now, I’m using the following basic recipe:

  • ½ cup sea salt
  • ½ cup Epsom salts
  • ½ cup grape seed (or almond) oil
  • a few drops of Lavender essential oil

IMG_20140111_142437

First combine the salts in a large bowl, and then add the oil. A few drops of your essential oil and you are done. You can tweak it to your liking. Prefer a more solid scrub? Use less oil. The nice thing is that with this basic recipe you can do no harm. I like to keep it in a pretty glass jar to display in my bath. Just one natural item that continues to make me feel like the queen that the hubby tells me I am in my humble home.

Leave a Reply

