DIY laundry detergent saves, cleans and brightens (my day!)

Our recent successful DIY test kitchen experiments left me yearning to try my hand out at any/all DIY experiments. More specifically, I wanted to try out some homemade cleaning products, and laundry detergent seemed like the logical next step. After all my BFF has had success with this for the past six months.

Stacey is pretty much my idol so of course I ventured a pass at it, especially after I recently was able to watch her in action. Turns out that it’s super easy and very inexpensive. Stacey has two very energetic children, one of which goes through wardrobe changes like a diva about to go onto a stage. So you can imagine how she goes through laundry! She told me that she’s only had to refill her detergent once in the past three months. Considering the cost of a single bottle of Meyer’s detergent ($17.98) that lasted less than three months, I was convinced.

I was ready to try it out for myself. Turns out the instructions are super easy, and compared to what it normally costs for a good, store-bought detergent why not try this simple recipe out?

(Effin Artist disclaimer: We had to go to Walmart for the products. I’m still not over it. As we walked in The Bride started mumbling about Walmart’s terrible reputation, their assault on small business, their terrible wages, so I knew we were on the same page. But we are also on the same budget, and many of these products aren’t so easy to find. I’m not saying this to ease my conscience. It’s a full-blown confession. In the future we will consider a better place to shop and perhaps less commercialized ingredients, but the budget being what it is and the timing and… I’ll shut up and go be shamed in the corner and let the Bride get back to her post.)

IMG_20140304_144635

You will need the following items, which can be found in the laundry aisle:

  • One 4lb. 12 oz. box of Borax
  • Three bars of Fels-Naptha soap. You can use any soap of your choice.
  • One 4lb. box of arm & hammer baking soda.
  • One box of arm & hammer super washing soda
  • 4 lbs. of Oxy Clean
  • Laundry softener crystals for scent (i.e. Downy Unstoppables). This last item is optional. I personally, like to add them because it gives the laundry detergent a nice scent.
  • A large 4 gallon, or 5 gallon glass container (or other type container to store the mixed detergent).

Approximate cost for all of these ingredients will set you back about $33 dollars. But, considering that you only need 2-3 tablespoons for each load, this will last awhile. Reread above about my BFF’s diva child daily wardrobe change.

Directions:

Laundry Detergent 1

Start with grating (using the small-sized grate) your bars of soap into a bowl.

Laundry Detergent 2
Dump the soap into your container.

Laundry Detergent 5
Followed by all of your other items.

Mix all ingredients together, and then add to your detergent container as needed.

IMG_20140304_152345

It really is this easy. Now, my BFF chooses to layer and mix the ingredients a little at a time, because dumping it all in at one time can make it quite heavy. I chose to go ahead and dump it all in and then mixed it all together with a really big heavy spoon. Mix however you please.  Give it a try. It’s a savings that I think is worthy of this mention.