Want to lose 100 pounds? Forget the diet

I can never get over the fact that we’ve created a multi-billion dollar diet industry and the net result is we have reached an epidemic of obesity.

Consider that? If you are like me whose DNA requires a constant attention to the battle of the bulge, then you know how emotional the issue can be and how emotionally bad the decisions related to our diets can be.

We are prey, folks. Pure prey. And the diet-based industry is feeding on our fatty flesh.

I can’t stress enough how upside down and bottom-line insane our collective conscience is here. We keep chasing the diets and they keep making us fatter and the proponents richer with no accountability for results.

We’ve collectively spent BILLLLLLIONS on diets that have made us as a nation sicker, fatter and more desperate than ever.

So why does it continue?

Seriously, I feel like I should put out a diet book that charges $5 with a simple promise that you’ll never spend money on diets again and you’ll lose weight. I know because I did it and I kept it off. Folks would pay for that right?

So page one would be this: You’ve just spent your last $5 on diets. Don’t ever pay for a diet again.

Page 2 would be: eat right and exercise.

Page 3 would say The End.

I think that would be a public service.

Think I’m crazy?

I know. I do too. But that’s the problem. The lunatics have taken over the asylum. And they keep saying we need to spend more money and have worse results and call that sane.

Insanity is sometimes described as doing the same thing over again and expecting a new result. Ta da! What better explains diets.

The only thing you need to change to lose weight is your brain. That’s it. Change your thoughts through sustained action and you will lose weight and keep it off. Put yourself through a death march of Cross fit and fruit cleanses and you’ll lose weight, have the same brain, and put back on twice the weight at some point.

A hoof-to-head strategy is required for success and it start with THE HEAD. Let me explain:

I started my “diet” by simply cutting all desserts in half. I wanted to lose weight, yes, but I wanted to change my brain and get healthy. I switched the priorities, putting health over weight loss. I started thinking differently.

My fat wasn’t about sugar, really. It was alcohol (which turns to sugar, but I once heard it called “empty calories” which meant it was OK… just shows you how a boozer thinks) and stress and working 100 hours a week (in the literal sense, not the “oh yeah, I work a 100 hours a week” when you mean 55 sense). I needed a huge thinking change or I was gonna die. But I started with the easiest thing: desserts. Cut em in half, give the rest away and move on.

I started my “diet” with a simple philosophy. I would do nothing that wasn’t sustainable. If I couldn’t envision doing it forever, I wasn’t going to do it. No back-breaking Navy Seal training, no fasting, no extreme cleansing, no super fat-burning pills. Just lifestyle changes. Eating smaller deserts was an easy lifestyle change.

Soon I simply banned all desserts. It wasn’t that hard. I wasn’t sure if it was sustainable, but my body was responding and didn’t crave the sugar, so I went with it.

It was a breeze compared to the break with alcohol, but that’s another story for a different category on this blog. But as I gave up booze my taste for decadent desserts returned. Now I am back to the half-portions again as a sustainable position toward my love-affair with desserts. The alcohol is all banned and has to be sustainable to keep my brain working properly. So that prohibition stands.

Over time the whole scope of how I ate and how I thought about food and how I worked out and how I thought about working out and the goals I had and my view of self and the way I saw my body in the mirror and the way I appreciated health and … and… and… CHANGED.

And I lost the weight. It took about 18 months. I hit many plateaus. I learned a ton about how my body reacts. I learned when I deprived myself calories, my body went to war to fatten me up. When I ate like cattle, grazing throughout the day I felt hungrier and lost weight. I learned that my body would reward my indulgences of sweets or fattening meals with a loss of a pound or two because I think it realized I wasn’t trying to starve it. I learned that I have to pay close attention to the innate part of my body that wants to get fatter even now just to be safe. I learned my body hated fast foods. I felt sick eating them and haven’t had any but my beloved In N Out Burger (and I’ve only had that twice) for three years.

I learned about me and how to stay fit, active and healthy as a lifestyle. I’m reasonably well proportioned. I have a touch of belly roll and stubborn love handles, but I look fine. My blood pressure, once dangerously high is well in the normal range and has even come in as low as 103/55 once when I was off caffeine as a failed experiment (definitely not sustainable for me).

So let me say it again and you can keep your five bucks.

Eat right: that is worth more than a page and I’ll revisit here often. But it’s pretty simple to get started and the more you do, the more you’ll learn. Your taste buds do change.

Exercise: Keep it simple. Do what you enjoy, not what you hate. Hike, bike, swim, yoga, active sports, jog, walks with dog or the spouse, walking and bicycling instead of car trips, etc. etc. It doesn’t have to be an hour at the gym, though that turns out to be pretty fun too when you learn to do it right and enjoy it.

Eat right and exercise. Lose 100 pounds. Save billions.

That’s a bestseller, right?

The ushers are passing the plate now. Thank you for your generous donations. Come back again soon!

4 thoughts on “Want to lose 100 pounds? Forget the diet”

  1. We’ll said sir. I think back on all the things that has worked for me and not and the reality of the situation is the more lazy I am the hungrier I get out of boredom. The more active I am the more I crave exercise. Good stuff im sharing this

Leave a Reply

