Geranium sugar cookies make for flavor and conversation

The vegetable focus we’ve had in our home has been invigorating to me. It’s become a vital focus of our meal planning and overall health routine. But… let’s face it. The cravings still kick in time and again for something far less good for me.

That’s where baking comes in. The hubby has commented often here — and rightly so — that I’m not much for cooking. He’s the chef in our family. But, I love baking. Be it cookies, cakes, pies, whatever I feel like making, I’m usually in the kitchen mixing it up. Baking has turned into such a therapeutic experience for me. I really enjoy it. As much as I get pleasure out of the process of baking, I enjoy even more the ability to pass along my baked goods. Recently my brother and his wife, had a baby. What better occasion to present an exotic new sugar cookies I needed to try for a homework assignment! (Can you believe it… school homework is making cookies? I love school).

The assignment called to replace vanilla with geranium essential oil. I didn’t know what to expect. My first reaction was to ensure that I had the proper Geranium (Pelargonium graveolens) essential oil in my kit. Next, I wanted to take the time to perform a thorough test of it using my sense of smell as the guide.

Upon first smell I was hit with huge floral notes. A symphony of flowers. As I sat in my quiet room, at my couch, which sits under my big window, I paid attention to the experience of how I felt with each scent. At first, a sense of calm came over me, followed by a general happy or satisfied feeling. The scent was just colorful to me. Based on the sensory experiment I was excited about replacing the vanilla in the cookie recipe.

Since it is just me and my husband at home, the two of us would have to suffice as the test cases. After I baked the cookies and let them cool for a couple of minutes, I asked my husband to try an unfrosted cookie first.

“Wow,” he said, which I took as a very good sign.

I tried it next (I’m always afraid to try my baking first, who knows why…). Wow, I thought. Really wow.

He said this would be a recipe you could bring to an upscale party, where gourmet food was being served, because the unique flavor would be interesting conversation.

I had decided that I would frost these cookies, and chose a very generic cream cheese frosting. The frosting called for vanilla, and I contemplated substituting the vanilla with the Geranium Pelargonium graveolens but I’m glad that I didn’t. I think that it would have been overboard if I would have used the geranium in the cookie as well as the frosting.

I handed him a frosted one and he grew more expansive.

“The cookie is light and flaky, which is perfect for the unusual, subtle flavor. These are elegant. Really elegant.”

I tried one with frosting. “Wow,” I thought. I wasn’t as expansive, but I admit, I felt really, really happy with my effort.

I was amazed at the subtle floral flavor that it added to the cookie. So different from the vanilla, and a bit unusual, but something that you could serve to people to give them a different take on your standard sugar cookie.

When my husband made me leave him a dozen of the cookies, I knew I had succeeded, even though my brother and his wife’s present will be a bit smaller now.

Don’t take my word for it. Try it yourself and share your experiences in the comments below. Thanks!

Geranium Sugar Cookies 2

Old Fashioned Geranium Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 drops of Organic Geranium Essential Oil Pelargonium graveolens
  • 4 ½ cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  1. Cream together thoroughly butter, oil, powdered sugar and granulated sugar
  2. Add eggs and 2 drops of Organic Geranium Essential Oil Pelargonium graveolens and beat until smooth
  3. Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt.  Blend well.
  4. Refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes
  5. Roll teaspoons of dough into balls
  6. Place on lightly greased cookie sheet or parchment paper
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes
  8. Leave cookies on cookie sheet for 2 minutes after taking out of oven, them move to wire racks. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 5 tablespoons soft butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 ½ cups powdered sugar

Instructions:

Mix all of your ingredients until you reach your desired consistency.

 

Leave a Reply

