Busting the hype of ‘fat busting’ Garcinia Cambogia

I confess, I like Dr. Oz.

Frankly, among smart people, that makes me an idiot. For a positive guy who really seems to enjoy helping people stay healthy, he takes a lot of heat. Most of the ire stems from the face that the Harvard trained heart surgeon with impeccable credentials tends to to hype less than established ideas on his widely popular talk show. Unlike most of the upper crust medical community from which he hails, Oz talks “everyman” as well as any one on TV and is more than willing to steer his show onto unscientific grounds if it makes for good TV.

That pisses people off, who dislike his influence and disdain his authority that he unquestionably wields at times for ratings first and foremost.

I’m smart enough to get all that. I understand well reality TV shows are anything but and talk shows are rarely the best source of information, especially medical information.

But I like him. He’s positive. He’s mentally nimble. And he’s willing to leave the rails of American medicine to explore all types of ideas far beyond the narrow parallel lines.

In a 2012 New Yorker article, Oz said, “Western medicine has a firm belief that studying human beings is like studying bacteria in petri dishes. Doctors do not want questions from their patients; it’s easier to tell them what to do than to listen to what they say. But people are on a serpentine path through life, and that is the way it is supposed to be. All I am trying to do is put a couple of road signs out there. I sit on that set every day, and that is what I am focusing on. The road signs.”

That is why I like him.

But liking him and adoring him are different things and I’m the first to admit that some of what he over-hypes on his show is just that hype, with plenty of hype on top.

I don’t disagree with the article taking Oz to task for a variety of hyped statements on his show and his willingness to tout things that haven’t been empirically verified. But it’s just not so cut and dried and while I take what Oz says with the grain of salt (I confess too, I don’t watch the show. Most of what I get from Oz I read) I still find him a helpful voice for open ideas of health.

All of which is to say I have no problem saying when it comes to Garcinia Cambogia, Oz was all wrong.

If I sold ads on this site, I’d have just lost a lot of revenue, because ever since Oz called this weird little supplement taken from a fruit a fat-busting miracle, the ads have become more dominant than Nairobian princes wanting to send me $80 million bucks.

Trust me on this: the pill does not help you lose weight. It flat out doesn’t work. Oz got it all wrong.

Don’t believe me: Check this out.

Of all the things I read about this product — there are seemingly millions of articles these days — I couldn’t find a normal, rational blog about someone who took it. It seems everyone writing about it was on the take. But I like Dr. Oz, he sure seemed to swear by it and The Bride wanted a boost in her final push to tighten her tummy.

So I decided to buy some (yep, I sure did).

I read a lot about this product before I bought it. I did all the research. We read all the ups and down and calls of quackery. After a good bit of research we bought a version of the supplement that met all the requirements by Dr. Oz and most of those writing on the topic.

I set out to provide the normal, rational blog about the supplement I couldn’t find.

Since Christmas we’ve been doing major tuneups to what we eat and how we work out and how we approach healthy living. Neither of us are “fat” I would say — though we’ve both been there — but we both have a little muffin top that we’d like to lose. We eat very well overall. We work out consistently. Yet neither of us would complain if we could take a naturally made supplement that would help burn the last fat that stubbornly clings to our body.

As part of an overall emphasis on shedding a few pounds, reducing our sugar intake, eliminating as many processed foods as we can and dramatically ramping up our vegetable intake, we added the Garcinia Cambogia supplement, taking it faithfully as directed for eight weeks.

Neither of us lost a single pound.

Is a study with an n of 2 the definitive word on this complex, controversial study? Of course not. There are countless studies that show placebos just as effective in weight loss. There is a litany of research saying this hype is just that. And who knows what other variables are at play with my wife and I. All I know is I lost 100 pounds over nearly two years and kept most of it off. I know how to lose weight and get healthy and stay that way. I know my body well, and have charted this process for a long time. I have seen some things work well and others not so well.

Rarely have I seen anything have absolutely no impact like I did of eight weeks of taking this “miracle” supplement. And I did it while doing a lot of others things that normally would shed a couple of pounds. I could argue that it actually stalled our weight loss.

My wife had the exact same experience.

I didn’t take Garcinia Cambogia for a miracle. I thought it might give a little added boost. It didn’t even do that.

Now I get to see if the money-back guarantee is also just hype (I suspect we know the answer to that right?)

As my confidence started to wane, imagine my surprise when I caught a Dr. Oz show in passing where he explained the critical things people needed to do to burn fat. In that show his miracle supplement of Garcinia Cambogia was… replaced with something else, which really made my case.

I still like Dr. Oz, but its plain to see why people don’t.

Leave a Reply

